Archive

all types › blog
  • Livestreaming the Defining Gender Parity Town Hall—Boston—StageSource—Sat, April 26 HowlRound TV
    StageSource, Boston presents the Defining Gender Parity Town Hall livestreaming on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Saturday, April 26 at 8am PDT/ 10am CDT/ 11am EDT/ 15:00 GMT/ 4pm BST/ 17:00 CEST. In Twitter, follow @StageSourceBos and use #newplay. In this Defining Gender Parity Town Hall, we want to have a conversation about what gender parity looks like for our theater community. Where are we now, and what are our future goals? What does "success" look like, and how do we get there?
  • DIY Shakespeare: Co-Creating With Your Community Rick Dildine
    Shakespeare is credited with writing 38 plays. Some say as many as 43 and some say as few as zero; no matter what, all are in the public domain. I thought: “What if we gave away the entire canon to the public?” The challenge: 38 plays in 38 hours in 38 different locations.
  • Livestreaming What is the role of the playwright?—South Coast Repertory—Sun, April 27 HowlRound TV
    South Coast Repertory's 17th Annual Pacific Playwrights Festival in Costa Mesa, California presents the panel "What is the role of the playwright?" livestreaming on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at http://howlround.tv on Sunday, April 27 at 9am PDT/ 11am CDT/ 12pm EDT/ 16:00 GMT / 5pm BST/ 6pm CEST. Julie Marie Myatt, South Coast Repertory’s Mellon Playwright in Residence, will moderate a conversation with many of this year’s festival playwrights. Join us as Julie investigates what it means to be a playwright in America today. What keeps these playwrights writing? What inspired these plays? Panelist include this year’s festival playwrights: Rachel Bonds, Eliza Clark, Rajiv Joseph, Adam Rapp, Theresa Rebeck. In Twitter, use #newplay & @SouthCoastRep.
  • A Bridge to End a Social and Economic Divide: Dialogue/Diálogos Project Sara Guerrero
    The project’s success has been due to a number of factors, including (but not limited to): playwright-in-residence José Cruz González, someone I have looked up to since his time at HPP and CuCuCuevez Teatro at Santa Ana College; early consultation, training, and guidance from Cornerstone Theater Company—a company that combines the artistry of professional and community collaborators in theater; the help and support of an incredible ensemble of individuals and professional teaching artists, and a partnership with Latino Health Access (LHA), a Santa Ana-based health organization celebrating its twentieth anniversary that engages and empowers the community, forges partnerships, and advocates health equity for all.
  • Resident Playwrights in Conversation: José Cruz González and Julie Marie Myatt Julie Marie Myatt, José Cruz Gonzaléz
    Julie Marie Myatt and José Cruz González are two of South Coast Repertory’s playwrights-in-residence. José Cruz González is the playwright charged with gathering the stories of the Santa Ana community that serve as the foundation of South Coast Repertory’s Dialogue/Diálogos project. Over the course of a year, he gathered stories from more than 700 residents of the primarily Latino city. The result is "The Long Road Today (El Largo Camino Hoy)", a piece to be performed in Santa Ana in the fall of 2014 with members of the community.
  • Twitter Chat Topic: How do you translate theater into other languages and into other cultures? HowlRound
    This week's conversation topic is "How do you translate theater into other languages and into other cultures?" and will be moderated by Playwrights Foundation @pwfoundation—who like all of our moderators, authors, and content producers—self-selected to peer-produce on this commons-based platform! This hour-long Howl will take place on Thursday, April 24 on hashtag #newplay at 11am PDT (San Francisco) / 1pm CDT (Austin) / 2pm EDT (Toronto) / 18:00 GMT / 7pm BST (London).
  • Suzan-Lori Parks livestreams Watch Me Work—Wed, April 23 HowlRound TV
    You’re invited to join Suzan-Lori Parks from the lobby of The Public Theater in New York City for "Watch Me Work" which is livestreaming for the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at http://howlround.tv . This performance in this season-long series happens on Wednesday, April 23 at 2pm PDT (Vancouver) / 4pm CDT (Austin) / 5pm EDT (Toronto) / 21:00 GMT / 10pm BST (London). To participate on Twitter, use hashtag #newplay and direct your questions to @WatchMeWorkSLP. Additionally, follow @HowlRoundTV for updates.
  • Friday Phone Call # 57: Olga Garay-English David Dower
    Many of you have already read the story of my first meeting with Olga Garay-English in 2002 in Portland, Oregon. A TCG-sponsored gathering called New Works, New Ways. From that very first poke in the ribs, Olga has been a critical conceptual collaborator in my own work and in the formulation of the identity of HowlRound. We start from her pre-performing-arts days, move to her work with Miami Dade College, the ideas underpinning her time as the first program officer of the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation, and then the ideas defining her contributions as the Executive Director of the Department of Cultural Affairs of the City of Los Angeles. Talk about making an impact! This call is equal parts personal, practical, and philosophical. As ever, with Olga, it is also entirely personable. This woman personifies the axiom "angels fly because they take themselves lightly". Olga flies. Where will she land now that she's done her turn at the LA DCA?
  • Diversifying Creative Writing Educational Programs with Playwriting Joelle Jameson
    The neglect of playwriting as a genre in what I’ll lovingly call the creative writing industrial machine—poetry, fiction, and non-fiction/memoir are the ruling three—hasn’t escaped conference organizers. They actively encourage pitches for playwriting panels, which are typically in short supply. This year, this poet and part-time playwriting instructor made a point of attending as many theater-related panels as possible. It was an incredibly heartening experience, mainly due to the emphasis placed on the benefits of incorporating playwriting into creative writing and literature classrooms.
  • What Are Your Prejudices About Theater? Loy Webb
    We cannot be preoccupied before or during a show with differences of race, class, sexuality, etc., and assume because of these differences the lives of those we see before us are foreign territory. When we do that, we rob ourselves of what might be a beautiful and transformative experience if only we give it a chance. Instead we should keep an open mind and find the human connecting points. When we do that, we’ll find that deep down, we are more alike than we are different.

Pages